The Abduction?

28 Jun

Writer discussed: Joyce Carol Oates “The Abduction.”

Again, we have a story that plays with grammar. Eventhough the story is written from the third person, why do you think the writer used grammar in the way that she did? How did it affect the point of view that we see the story being told from? Does it make you trust the narrator more (maybe like in “The Brother), or less? Whose point of view is this story being told from? Do you think the abductor was going to harm the girl? Why or why not? Does that affect the story? And like how does the way she tell the story, like, affect the way we interpret the, like, story? Have fun!

51 Responses to “The Abduction?”

  1. Wendy Rosales June 28, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    What the heck is her deal? Why even get in to a strangers car in the first place? I feel that she wasn’t thinking on the situation that would happen. I also though it was creepy that she described him like she felt sorry for him but what through me off that moment she wanted to use the restroom and it says , ” he can see in her eyes her special quality, hers was to be a special destiny he said so it was imperative she return to him”. Also was that i just felt that she knew what she would get her self into. This is a girl not thinking out side the box, just only when she actually wanted to use the restroom and ran and got away i really though wow maybe she dumb enough to actually go back to him.

  2. Oyuki Hernandez June 30, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    “The abduction” i didn’t like this story it seem to plain with not much of a climax. There was not a lot description of how the girl felt when she was in the car. Also the way the story was written it seem the girl was feeling sorry for the man. When she describe the man it seem she was admiring the way he looked. The man didn’t seem he would hurt the girl, it seem he just wanted someone to hear him out. The ending was boring. It needed a little bit more of the 5 senses.

  3. LIXIAN ZHAO June 30, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Joyce Carol Oates “The Abduction.”
    When I take the first glance at this short story, I am like wow, this might be a tedious story. To be honest, It’s my first time reading an article like this, no paragraph separating in between. I can hardly find a comma in each 5 lines. But I believe the writer uses the grammar like this to create the nervous and intense atmosphere at that time. Surprisingly, this odd grammar usage makes every scene sounds real. In my opinion, I don’t think it matters whether the abductor is going to hurt the girl or not; the reaction and thoughts of the girl add interesting elements to the story. Even though I need to stop every five minutes to analyze the text when reading it, the overall reading experience is fun.

  4. Samantha Espadas July 1, 2013 at 1:43 am #

    “The Abduction.”

    Okay this story in my opinion was rather stupid. who just gets in a car with a stranger? I felt as if this really would have gone back to this guy what she said she felt sorry for him. Either way I didn’t enjoy the story. Grammar wise I suppose that added a bit to the story to make you think this is a young lady without a care in the world but it made it a bit awkward to read. I honestly don’t think he had the intention of hurting her but then again I don’t know he could just be some crazy old man that had no clue what he was doing. I think that this story really could have been better.

  5. Alexander Sanchez July 1, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    “The Abduction” Why would she agree to get in the car? Anybody in their right mind would have said no. Why would she even go to the mall without a car if she knew she would have to hitch-hike back home. It was clear with what his intentions were when he was talking in a queer voice not to fast to get excited. I just think she wasnt thinking when she said
    Yes. At least she was smart enough to run out the car when he stopped

  6. Margarita Antonio July 1, 2013 at 6:19 am #

    The Abduction
    Crazy story! I felt that the author just keep talking and talking, something similar to the video. I had a bit of trouble reading the story because I needed a period, somewhere in that story(more than one period). It gives the audience a feeling that we have to catch up with the author, because the author is not being considerate to his audience but narrating a story. It’s like his telling us what happen instead of showing us(show Vs. tell). Maybe the purpose of the author is to tell the story, it seems like a chisme ( to gossip ) told from person to person.Well both the girl and the man are lunatic. But I think that the girl was crazier for actually getting in the car the first place, because the author describes the girl as someone mature but mature doesn’t necessary mean smart. I believe that the man did want to harm the girl. I think he wanted to rape her and then possible killed her because he has both mental and anger issues.

  7. Heidi Morales July 1, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    “Valley Girl -In this Bar”
    The writer uses grammar so it can be so called “funny” I didn’t think it was funny. I was thinking girl calm down, breathe. I trust more the narrator from “The Brother” than this story, because it seemed the girl was in a rush, the way she was telling the story it was more like saying something that happened to her which didn’t seem like a big deal. The story is being told from her point of view. I don’t think the abductor was going to harm the girl because he was just being nice offering her a drink and he was making conversation but towards the end the abductor told the girl to back off. I’m writing my comment on the video.

  8. audreylopez17 July 1, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    In the story “The Abduction”

    I was sure that the guy who picked her was going to do something. Maybe not right away he was probably trying to make her feel like he was a sensitive guy even though he was let her go to the restroom he seemed not so hesitate about it. The story is being told by the narrator and the way it was written I believe was to show how us someone was telling me a story as if we were talking in a coffee shop or at a dinner.

  9. Funk July 1, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    “The Abduction”
    This girl didn’t have a clue did she? Why would any girl get into another mans car? and a stranger at that. Very odd that she believed he would take her home, she should have walked. The grammar used in this story was weird because he didn’t use any periods. The only one was to end the whole story. Many many commas but they were used correctly. I was certain that the old man was going to try to do something to the girl, have his way or just turn her into a house wife or something. Not a bad story.
    -Alex Vargas

  10. David Vasquez July 1, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    “The Abduction”
    I really didn’t like the way that the story story was told. It was unappealing to me because the story didn’t have any….I don’t know who to say it. Its just sounds like she just vomited the story out (Blah!). I think she used that grammer to show us, that its was from a young women or in this case a young girl. The way the story affected me, i was just uninterested. I didn’t trust the narrotor because it just sounds like a one sided story its just what the girl in the story is thinking and the way she is feeling. I think the author was just telling us the way she felt then and there, it doesn’t tell us what she felt after everything happened. I dont think the old guy was going to do anything to her because if he wanted to harm her he would of done it quick not wait till the gas runs out so she can escape; but it was kinda creepy for him to pick her up.The way i interrupted it, was just some 17 year old white girl, running away from her parents cause they didn’t want to buy here shoe’s or something material like, then she gets in to a car and starts to rethink what she just did. Now i fell like she just made up everything that happened.

  11. Manuel Aquino July 1, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Omg, I loved the video lol, as soon as I saw “Catherine Tate” and” BBC” I knew I would love it. I love her in Doctor Who which is by far my favorite show ever. She is so funny. Here is a clip with her with David Tennant, a person who played The Doctor in Doctor Who from 2005-2010. Talking about English Literature/Shakespeare. Most people won’t get the referencef if they don’t know Shakespeare, Doctor Who, and or British comedy/accents.

  12. Manuel Aquino July 1, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    This is the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxB1gB6K-2A

  13. Leida White July 1, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    The Abduction

    It seemed slightly easier to read than the story, the brother. It sounds like it’s coming from a 3rd party who is talking about a story that happened to someone she knows that knows someone. Kinda like story telling to someone so they’ll never jump in the car with a stranger. I thought it was a very interesting way the writer wrote the story. And In a sad way, that’s probably how we sound when we retell a story. The scary part is that we don’t know the intentions of the man. Crazy is crazy and there’s no way of trusting crazy because whatever way you look at it, it’s all bad. Kill her or keep her, regardless you’re dead. I like to say the story was probably based in the 70s? Taking rides from strangers was very common. The year or weather was probably why she got in. I doubt good looks was the reason. Overall scary.

    • Edessa Perez July 1, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      The Abduction

      well as for this story its kind of in the middle I suppose it can be written better. As in the description is too much . like one of my teachers had once told me description is good but too much can make the reader bored. and yea that’s what pretty much happened. thought it would be good because of her getting in the car but after that just went down hill. not much going on. I guess getting in the car would be the climax but then yea. the reading wasn’t to hard to grasp. like I said could of been a little more excitement and yea. END WITH A BANG! as you would say xD

  14. Wendy Valiente July 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    The Abduction
    the concept is not original and the account of the event doesn’t catch your attention. In fact part of information is irrelevant and confusing. For example: the text in one of the parenthesis is so long that you get lost. I still don’t understand how the guy’s hate for Christmas, U.S Government, hosts and genes helps to the story. The end for me was the worst part, it is an abduction no an spiritual journey why the author talks about an special destiny, happiness and gratitude.

  15. Juliana Garibay July 1, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    At first I thought this story was going to be full of excitement, or thrilling, or suspenseful, but in reality it was kind of boring. It felt as if she was just going on, and on, and on! There was no plot to the story, no turn or anything. It felt almost as if the girl didn’t really care about being kidnapped. There was no much detail about what was going through her head, or anything. I didn’t like this story all too much. One of the first things I noticed was that when she says quotes or anything he or she says, there are no proper punctuation marks. This story was almost like my little 12 year old nephew wrote it. Needs a bette climax.

  16. Daisy Marie Galvan July 1, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    “The Abduction”. The girl in this story obviously got into a car she thought was safe to take home. Once she said the man was talking and talking I knew something was weird about him. If she was gonna be scared and cry she never should have got in the car. I would have walked instead of going in a car with a man. Although she explained him as an older man that was clean-cut, she made him sound creepy. Once she said that he told her to “stay in the car and not cause him to hurt her”, that is how you know something is wrong. Of course he wanted to do something to her, knowing exactly what he was gonna do is hard to catch because there is no information about that. He seems odd because he starts complementing her which to me is just sweet talk to keep her calm and next to him. It is clear that he was gonna most likely sexually abuse her because he was trying to point out qualities to manipulate her about “special destiny”. The grammar in this story sucks; however, this story does not suck as much as the other one that had no punctuation at all. There are hardly any commas where there should be a pause, and i believe there might be comma splices in this story.The story is being told from the narrators point of view. no i do not trust the narrator more just from the point of view. I do not know why the grammar is used the way it is, but i wish she would use correct grammar.

  17. Jocelyn Rojas July 1, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    The Abduction is actually a weird story I dont know what but I feel as if the story was written as if it were a rough draft. I dont know but it had a weird feeling to it. It felt extremely random which is something that is found in rough draft, maybe in a child’s writing. Grammar may not have been important again but it was easier to read. I don’t know, it just seems to boring in my eyes. The tittle did get my attention but I think the story would seem more interesting if it were written in the first person point of view and not the third person of view. When writing these kinds of stories points of views are important and should be considered to make the story interesting and add more emotion.

  18. Juan Jimenez July 1, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    ” The Abduction ”

    The story is kind of boring. I Think the writer used grammar so the story sounds more like a conversation, rather the just reading a short story. The way the writer used grammar, affected the point of view of the story because the reader doesn’t really get a good sense on how the character in the story are feeling. The fact the story was written in the point of view of the narrator, make me trust the story (narrator) less because I’m just getting the narrator’s point of view. I don’t believe the abductor was ever going to harm the girl. I think he just need someone to talk to. If he really wanted to harm her, he wouldn’t of let her out of the car to use the restroom. The abductor had already had someone to talk to for over an hour and he was happy with that. I think it did affect the story the fact that he didn’t harm her because after reading the title I think most people expect something bad to happen. I don’t think this story would make a very interesting movie.

  19. Edwin Funes July 1, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I am glad the story had a happy ending and that nothing happened to that dumb girl. I didn’t even notice the grammar because the story was interesting I wanted her to get out of that situation. I enjoyed “the brother “ story because it was funnier. “The abduction” the ending of the story was funny. I think the grammar was used in that way to illustrate how grammar is used improperly but that’s how I talk. So I didn’t notice. Yeah I think he would have harmed her if she wouldn’t have left when she did. Again I could see the the humor but since that’s how I talk I get her. Better than reading Orwell jk Orwell fans.

  20. Daisy Salcido July 1, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    I believe that the writer chose to use gramar this way in order to portray the incident as if it was never going to end. The writer chose to write this huge run on sentence to show step by step of the scenario and not leave anything out. After reading this story, i felt that the narrator didn’t really show us in what direction she was heading. At one point i was not sure if the girl would decide to act out, or stay quiet and follow the mans directions. The person who is narrating the story is the girl that was in the car. She is telling her story years after the incident took place. I certainly believe that the abductor was going to harm the girl. You can never trust a stranger. Actions speak louder than words. In this case, his actions signified he was not mentally stable. His words said otherwise. His actions affected the story in the sense that when the gas began to run low, it was do or die. I knew it was either going to be good or bad. I would have done the exact same thing he was doing to me. I would have convinced him that i was not going to scream or say anything gave him a smile and told him to trust me, then i would walk off the car slowly. Once i was inside the gas station, i would lock the door and tell the attendant to call 911. The way the narrator interprets the story makes me feel like she’s a true survivor.

  21. Stephanye Amenabar July 1, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    “The Abduction?”
    First of all I didn’t like the story. Maybe because I didn’t like how it ended. Second of all, where the hell was she at in the first place? If she was mature enough why didn’t she call anyone else before getting into a strangers car? It was kind of hard to read because it didn’t have periods. I personally would be scared to get a ride from someone I didn’t know because you never know what might happen. I think the man was really weird throughout the story, but I don’t think he wasn’t planning to harm her. What if he said said the story in hispoint of view? She said her point of view and maybe he has his own.

  22. Alexander Escobar July 1, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    “The abduction”
    When a stranger asks you if you want a ride 99.9% will say no. In this case, this girl who is 17 years old said yes. She says she is mature but I do not think so. I think is an idiot and she deserves to get rape. Luckily the guy doesn’t seem to be ripest just a creeper. Well he could have been crazy because he got excited towards the end of their trip.

  23. Jia Ru July 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    “The Abduction”
    I fully agree with Oyuki Hernandez on this article, it kind makes me wanted to stop reading if I didn’t need to write common. For a two and half pages essay, I could figure out a point off it besides a crazy lonely man tries to release his anger by telling a teenager girl who needs a ride home. I don’t think he would hurt the girl, all he wants is to talk to the girl. Moreover, I couldn’t understand why people want to interview this girl over and over for years when he didn’t do anything to hurt or intimidate her. What could she possible tell the media about the “event” happened to her. Why she uses the word “Event”?

  24. Diana Cardenas July 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    The Abduction
    I think the writer wrote the story as if she was the seventeen year old girl in the story. I think the point of view was from the girl and it made me as the reader see the story in her eyes. She took us moment by moment as how she was feeling, from looking at the guy as harmless, then showing us how “she knew she’d just made the worst mistake of her life climbing into a car with a crazy man”. I trusted the narrator more of this story then from “The Brother”. I didn’t think the man was harmless he seemed crazy and if I was her I would have put my seatbelt on and made the car crash cause you never know what will happen in a split of a second.

  25. Xiaotian Shi July 1, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    this passage is full of run on sentences, and I really dont know why she wrote like that. probably the girl talk in that way to express her feeling of emergency and she can t stop writing if no one make her to do so.its more casual and look less than an serious article,

  26. jianyong he July 1, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    “The Abduction.”
    After i read it,i agree with Oyuki Hernandez on this article.the story is very internesting in the beginning and middle. But the end of the story is kind of weak.first of all the girl in this story got into a car and she thought it was safe to take home by a stanger. But in real life if a stanger ask you to give you a ride, most of time people will say no. the girl was going to harmed by the abductor. overall its a good story to read.

  27. Gavino Olivarria July 1, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    “The Abduction”

    I enjoyed the reading. The title gave an idea of what the story would be about. The writer Carol Oates wrote a interesting story with punctuation mistakes. If written correctly this story would be more enjoyable to read. The message is clear about not trusting anyone for a ride. This teenage girl learn that, the hard way. She realize that by trusting this men in a Cadillac, she almost lost her life. The author uses sensory details to give a feel for the situation. Created suspense by demonstrating how a stranger could never be trusted only on appearance. Clearly this story is told as the third audience, but incorrectly written because of run on sentences. Besides grammar the story is well told. This story gives you an idea of why the comma and period are an important part of your writing skills.

  28. Angelica Barrientos July 1, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Abduction:
    I like how descriptive she was. But seriously what was wrong with her! she stayed super calm until the end. I enjoyed reading it. It was entertained yet horrifying. i Could not imagine myself in that situation. First of all i would never hitch hike. I think she wrote the story in that format because her story had no pause.

  29. Liliana Acedo July 1, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    “The Abduction”

    I would read this story again and again if I had to choose between this one and “The Brother” both have grammar issues but oh man this one at least has some periods! Now i think it wants to teach us how maybe we shouldn’t get on a strangers cars. I’m just joking that’s not what i really think its trying to teach us. Maybe the author wrote this to give us a lesson on how the ending of a story should be as interesting as the begging, and having a climax its the best way to make a story interesting and enjoyable.

  30. jacqueline borunda July 1, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    “The abduction”
    this caption sound like a interesting scary movie obviously this short story wasn’t. it was not that interesting. it was quite dull. why would she say yes ,she got in the car it was like asking for it and she didn’t sound that alarmed at first she seemed very calm like all chill that a stranger was talking her somewhere. first of all that’s crazy and creepy .but any whom . the story this story lacked in the climax (i’m not indicating that i’m the best in that) but maybe all this story need is a little more spice and more commas and periods.

  31. Jessica Reyes July 1, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    ” The Abduction ”
    yes it has a lot of grammar issues but we can at least tell where the sentences end and were she takes pauses . honestly i think of what an idiot girl she is , like honestly did her parents not teach her about what happens if you get into strangers cars? it does not matter if you had no ride at the moment .i was raised you tell them no or just ignore them . i would not consider it an abduction she got into the car, to me a true definition of abduction is someone who is taken by force or not even knowing .. she knew the things that could happen when getting into this car i know it sounds mean to say but she pretty much called it Apon herself.The story has you in suspense and has you wondering what is going to happen next for a moment ,it is like the story was leading to a climax but once it reached its so called climax it was dull.

  32. Jennifer Delgado July 2, 2013 at 12:13 am #

    The girl is so dumb. Who would honestly get into a car with a complete stranger? but on the other hand she must of not feel so threated by the guy to actually get in. Throughout the story I was waiting for an exciting end but it was boring. There were too many commas and not enough periods. The man would have eventually harmed her because what weird stranger gives rides to young girls for nothing in return nowadays. For me the story was intriguing I was just waiting for the man to do something to the girl because normally that’s how these stories go, but I was surprised in the ending.

  33. Rosa Najera July 2, 2013 at 12:37 am #

    I dont believe that he is guilty of kidnapping her. I say that because the young girl is very naive if she believes that she is not exposing herself to unknown dangers by climbing into strangers cars. She was not put of by what she saw, meaning she liked or could easily be attracted by him. So no I dont believe this girl was actually abducted at all. She willingly got in to that car,

  34. zhahid salinas July 2, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    “the abduction”

    The story is not as good as how they make movies now this days….i think the Abduction needed more of suspense and more work on it. at the same time this girl is crazy why would she go in on an old cadi. hhmm makes no seance. I thought she was mature like the book described her in the beginning. also this story was one big sentence. there was only 1 period hahaha….. but in other words it was fun reading the story for me, this way i can try to figure out what the writer is really saying ….

  35. Olivia Gomez July 2, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    “The Abduction”
    Great story to serve as a lesson for other young girls that take going out alone very lightly The first question is why would anyone get in the car with a stranger ? and why was she alone ? . As I was growing up my parents would never let me go anywhere all by myself , usually I would get dropped off and picked up . In the beginning when this would happen it would upset me because of course I didn’t know any better that it was for my safety I just thought my parents wanted to be annoying . Now that I’m older I find it really sweet that they use to do that for me and makes me feel loved and very blessed to have the parents that care so much for me. Very eye opening story .

  36. Gabby Camacho July 2, 2013 at 1:16 am #

    Valley Girl-In this Bar
    First of all, I would like to point out how much I dislike when people talk like that. I find it very irritating and very annoying when they just keep going on and on with their story and take no pauses or don’t even bother catching their breaths. I also do not like when people talk to me and they just keep repeating the same thing, which in this case would be when she says “….and I’m like….” and “….and he’s like….” I understand she was trying to repeat a conversation, but she does not have to tell the story like that. It annoys me and irritates me. I understand there was a point where she was getting a bit mad and the conversation with the guy wasn’t going so good, but by the way she is telling the story, I felt the story was rather boring than interesting.

  37. Juliette Hays July 2, 2013 at 1:33 am #

    The Abduction
    This story kind of makes me feel like we are in her brain. It’s like we are in her thoughts. I have read a lot of true crime books so they all begin like this but they all end much differently. But that scary excitement is the same. The run-ons didn’t bother me quite as much this time because of the excitement. I liked this story.

  38. Maricela Oviedo July 2, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    The Abduction
    That was one of the longest paragraphs with run on sentences I have read. Though I was able to come up for air, I felt I was chasing the narrator the entire time throughout the story.
    As for the stranger, well he obviously had issues;as did the girl. What girl in the right state of mind accepts a ride from a stranger…not to mention a weird looking one.
    It did not appear that the stranger was going to physically harm her, the direction the story was pointing to seemed that his plans were to brain wash her, mentally abuse her with his off the wall analysis, like when he says she was to be a special destiny. Given she climbed into the car, the stranger knew he would have an easy target;it would be a matter of time before he would take over her mind.
    The story has an interesting twist in the end; she’s marked for a special destiny and a special happiness, he’s still a weirdo and out of gratitude she says nothing.
    Maybe I’m sleepy and still recuperating from the workweek, but the story made me a little anxious.
    The clip I found to be hilarious… totally Valley girl. I could never imagine myself carrying on a conversation like that…too much! LOL

  39. Joshua Munoz July 2, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    “The Abduction”
    I Found this story more as a thriller. I liked the writing style of the author because it was as if I was there. The story had a almost third person vibe going for it which mad it more on edge and had me concerned for the girl being abducted. I don’t think that the abductor was going to hurt the girl, I figured he was just crazy and not really all there which of course could give the woman fear. He explains to the girl that he doesn’t hurt anyone that doesn’t try to hurt him and obviously the girl was too scared to try anything that extreme. I think the person telling this story would be Joyce Carol Oates because it’s obviously in third person so maybe she took an interest in the girls story and wrote about it. I felt like the writing style was very effective and made the story a whole lot more dramatic. I really enjoyed this story.
    -Joshua Munoz

  40. Iveth Vargas July 2, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    I didn’t like this story. She’s dumb for getting into a car with a stranger. I am dumb as well because I too accepted a ride from a stranger but that’s not why I don’t like the story.. I didn’t like it because she didn’t use good grammar!!!!!!!! It was scary to imagine being in her place while this crazy guy is whispering to himself and being all sweaty, weird, and touchy.

  41. Amanda Prom July 2, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    The abduction:

    I think the reason that it was mainly told in third person was to describe the entire situation that the girl stupidly put herself in. I mean, was she not told as a child NOT to go into stranger’s cars? The guy did not even appear trustworthy when she described him not that it mattered. I also did not understand why it took her awhile to realize that she was in danger when he was not going in the idrection of her house. In fact, why did she tell him her address as it would appear so in the story?? What if he did actually drove her home? He would have learned where she lived and then kidnapped her or stalked her afterwards when the time was right. I think the other person telling the story could have been a talk show host. I think the abductor most likely would have harmed the girl just because he did not say where he was taking her after it was obvious that he was not going to take her home, nor what he was goingto do to her once they got to their destination, otherwise she would have possibly jumped out of the car while it was still moving. The way she told the story with the number of commas it had with no periods meant that she did not stop talking at all while telling there story, but she did not tell the story like the narrator did in the story “the brother” where it sounded like he was never going to stop talking. It just sounded like she was talking kind of talking slowly, but never really paused in between her sentences and just kept going until she was completely done.

  42. Cynthia Huerta July 2, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    “The Abduction”

    This story was interesting, but I couldn’t concentrate due to the lack of punctuation.
    I felt like the whole story was one long sentence. This just reminds me of the importance of punctuation. Additionally, the girl’s reaction was really weird, for a moment I thought she wanted to get raped. I agree with the person who commented on how they thought the girl seemed stupid enough to return to the man. Over all it wasn’t a bad story.

  43. alma perez July 2, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    abduction

    it was hard to read the story not understanding what was going through the girl’s head and what things the man was saying, due to bad grammar. How did the girl not know taking a ride from a strangers only leads to horrible things. Its either murder or rape, or both. while the man is driving he tells the girl to sing in order for him not to get more mad and cause an accident on the road. he starts threating the girl into crashing but if the girl was mature she should of just jump out of the car and start screaming for help. with no grammar, I got confused in the end when she goes to the restroom and escapes. I thought she didn’t she that return to him. I like this story because many abductions have happen in life, girls just thinking it’s right to go with a stranger and don’t do anything they just go along with it.

  44. Jeffrey Gramajo July 2, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    The Valley Girl
    This gir’s voice was so annoying and it was really hard to keep up with what she was saying but it was funny at the same time. It was not boring because she was going all crazy and she sounds like a really annoying person and brought a point to the story of why the guy felt annoyed.She put a lot of feeling into the story but if it was said way slower it would have been better.

  45. regina valdez July 3, 2013 at 1:02 am #

    hi I know I’m a little late , but this story confused me did that crazy man rape the girl the ending is kind of ehh…but I did find the story interesting. It reminded me of lovely bones. every girls nightmare. .someone seems nice and trust worthyb and then they betray you .goes to show you can’t trust anyone.

  46. Erika Melchor July 3, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

    This story message is clear, to never get in a car with stranger. Why will a girl do that? it does not make sense because when i was 17 i was more scare to talk to strangers. I was also approach by a lot strangers on my way home from school. I dont think i girl in that age should even be alone. My parents were extremly over protected to even sleep over at friends house or go camping. The good thing that at the end of the story the girl scape and was able to tell her story.

  47. Q A. Vahdani July 8, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    When I read the story , “The Abduction,“ the first time i thought the girl was being taking advantage of, but when i read it again it makes me think otherwise. For example at the begining of the story the narrator states she was ,“not exaxtly hitchhiking along the highway by the shopping mall, just walking there,alone.“ I think she was purporsly waiting for someone to pick her up. At the end of the story whem narrirstor points out,“ she known she was marked for a special destiny and a special happiness-about which out of very gratitude, she dared not to speak.“ This says to she is gratful to the man driving. That means she lied about being abducted and maybe her pleads to get dropped off. The way this story is written is confusing. There is no clearity of the young ladys intentions, or that of the old fart.

  48. Margarita De Leon July 8, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    First of all, What the heck was this girl thinking or was she even thinking?, I mean who is dumb enough to get into a car with a stranger, that’s just plain stupidity. I just couldn’t stop thinking of that, some random stranger drives up to you to ask if you want a ride and you just jump in like nothing. Any ways I thought this story was just too short, it was more like being in her thoughts, the story was about what she was thinking. I would not consider this to be an abduction, an abduction is to be taken by force, and is I recall correctly this girl voluntairly got in the car, she could’veeasily said no and walk away but noooo this dumb girl got in the car. It was kind of a story that was too short but I think it could of had more.

  49. Darlene Avila July 9, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    The story affects grammar because it just goes on continuous with no pauses! Even though it gets confusing and you lose your place the story gets interesting because it’s actually a story being told by the girl going through the situation, so it’s as if we can relate more! Although it does not let us take the abdutors side to brighten, we tend to think more negative of him!! I don’t believe the guy would of killed her but I believe he was a bit crazy talking about her having a special destiny. A destiny I don’t seem to know if it was great or harmful and ill never truly know!

  50. vanessa vargas July 9, 2013 at 2:12 am #

    as i was reading the book i was trying to understand why would she even get inside the car with a man that she does not know. there is a reason why she was walking she should of keeped walking and ignored the man.i been in that situation once it was late at night and a man pulled over and asked me if i needed a ride but i said no and keeped walking. i ignored him till he got me scaredso i decided to tll him if he dont leave me alone i was going to call the cops and i took out my phone, scared the man of. I was thinking the man just wanted someone to talk to, let out all his problems to, someone who would listen to him, but that does not mean he has to go up to some random girl and ask her for a ride, theres a reason why their is therapist.

Leave a comment